P206 central locking, problems?
  • Help
Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default P206 central locking, problems?

    Peugeot 206 central locking is playing up, sometimes it locks and other times it locks and then unlocks itself.
    Other times you lock/unlock a couple of times and it is good , sometimes this doesn"t work either?

    Can't see a particular door that is a problem.

    Advertisement


    Anyone been down this path?
    Need a quick fix time is short this week and the next.

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts driven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,519

    Default

    Common problem, need to replace door assy solenoid.
    Check wiring there are 2 types of plug as I found after doing job on my 206
    Can rewire plugs if you need to
    May as well do both at once as the otherside failed after about 4 months as well

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Sounds exactly the same drill as on the 306.
    As the Peugeot cars evolve i expect new difficulties, thankfully we are spared , in this instance?
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Peugeot 206 2001 .
    No central locking , key doesn't operate the central locking tried both sides of the car, no good.
    Key when pressed gets the BSI area to make some noise but nothing in the doors.

    Checked the fuses .
    Is there a central locking relay?

    Any ideas before i swap the door locks?

  5. #5
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    G'day,
    is the battery in the key OK?
    Have you tried reprogramming the remote control?
    switch off the ignition
    switch the ignition on again
    press button A immediately
    switch off the ignition and remove the remote control key from the ignition lock. The remote control is now working again.
    Taken from the owners manual, page 87.
    I hope this helps.
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Thanks, was having a chuckle.
    I gave my 14 year old daughter the handbooks this afternoon to read and she came up exactly with the same.

    The key should run the central locking just by turning it in the lock, which is all i need.
    No locking noises on the other doors either, so something is wrong.
    Is there any way you can lock the car from the inside ?

    Possible both lock mechanisms are RS, you can be this unlucky?

    I have another car here which works , so could pull the locks off that to substitue but you break the clips getting the door trims off...if i can avoid swapping to see .. would be betteror maybe just will have to?

  7. #7
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    G'day,
    pushing down on the door locks should lock all the doors and the tailgate.
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    This is the exact problem, it doesn't.
    Door locks don't communicate with each other.
    The question is why?

    Would be happy if i could lock the boot.

  9. #9
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    Your remote should still lock the car. Does it try (lock then rapidly unlock)?

  10. #10
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    Quote Originally Posted by Berridale View Post
    This is the exact problem, it doesn't.
    Door locks don't communicate with each other.
    The question is why?
    Would be happy if i could lock the boot.


    G'day,
    in the old days, o dear I hear everyone say, we would check for broken wires, connections etc. Do you have a multimeter ?
    Does everything else electrical work?
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  11. #11
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    The BSI has two relays for the schlocking. One locks, the other unlocks. They're both on the upper (removable) board.

    The one to the back edge is the unlock relay, that on the left side towards the back is the locking relay. You can usually feel them click if you remove the covers from the BSI and reconnect everything, then operate the locking.

    Does the 206 not have a locking button on the dash?

  12. #12
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Addo,

    there is no clicking of the relays but when you use the remote there is a noise from the BSI.
    Both both front doors won't work the locking.

    *any chance of a pic with the location of the relays?
    *So you have to remove the BSI to change the relays?
    No locking button on the dash

  13. #13
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    So what does the remote do - does it make the blinkers flash?

  14. #14
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    The remote does nothing, only a slight noise from the BSI.

    Changed the battery from a remote on another car that works 100%,no change.

    *Could it be a fuse on the BSI?

  15. #15
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    Maybe, but unlikely - I think there are three fuses in the circuit for C/L. I'll post the '02 C3 diagram for reference - but it's deadlocking so has three relays.

    Due to the uploader, you might need to try saving the diagrams and opening them with another program.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P206 central locking, problems?-locking_3.jpg   P206 central locking, problems?-locking_1.jpg   P206 central locking, problems?-locking_2.jpg  
    Last edited by addo; 26th January 2014 at 12:28 PM.

  16. #16
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Found this link on the BSI,
    JP's homepage

    are the relays solderedin as suggested?

  17. #17
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Before i get at the BSI are the relays on the outside or do you have to remove the BSI casing?

  18. #18
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Addo,
    no fuses in the BSI unit,wonder why the fuses were pulled?

    Presume one of these fuses or more work the locking and other stuff that isn't working?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0906.JPG 
Views:	5544 
Size:	37.4 KB 
ID:	52250Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0910.JPG 
Views:	8666 
Size:	42.2 KB 
ID:	52252Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0909.JPG 
Views:	3196 
Size:	45.5 KB 
ID:	52253
    Let me know this is not how it should look, please?

  19. #19
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    That's a Siemens BSI, not the same as the Delphi one I posted diagrams for. Closest I have is for a 2001 Xsara.

    Try fuses A, D, F in those locations. Start with 5A in each and see how you go.

  20. #20
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jerangle
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Addo,
    thanks for your time on Sunday.
    Most things working now.
    Replaced the missing fuses and the locking now works.
    Remote not working but so what.


    Battery light is now on ?
    Wonder if the Maxi diag will clear the light?

    *Put another speedo in the car because the tacho wasn't working but then there was no display on the odometer but the tacho worked.
    How do you get around the lack of odometer display when replacing the speedo?

    Again thanks.

  21. #21
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    I would suggest you break down the clusters and just replace the non-working gauge, if they are like-for-like.

    No good ideas on the battery telltale, it may be coincidence, or a borrowed feed for something on the telltale line.

  22. #22
    sans witticism SLC206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    North Parramatta
    Posts
    4,002

    Default

    Missing fuses?
    Regards,

    Simon

    2018 308 GTi 2011 DS3 DSport
    ----
    2014 208 GTi 2007 207 GTi 2004 206 GTi180 2000 206 GTi 1995 306 XT

    www.peugeotclub.asn.au

  23. #23
    the famous 18E pug206gti's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    11,055

    Icon6

    G'day,
    I don't suppose there is an auto electrician in Jerangle? Sometimes calling the man is easier and quicker than spending a nice afternoon [when you could be out driving] swearing under a bonnet. However, I must say that you learn a lot by doing it yourself.
    regards,
    Les W.


    206 GTi 180
    the stealth Pug
    Did I do anything last night that suggested I was sane?








  24. #24
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    It's interesting to note that my charging circuit diagrams (Delphi, again) show no direct link to the cluster for multiplexed cars.

    I have to presume the multiplexed signal from the engine's ECU - which has a finger poked into the alternator (so to speak) says it's receiving charge.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •